Sunsets

prattswaynewoods_05142009005-blogLast night after work, I went out to a location that I knew from years ago to try to capture more sunset photos.  What a beautiful evening it was.  When I arrived, I encountered many families of geese, with their cute babies in tow.  Took a few pictures of them for you.  At one point, I got a little to close and was charged by an adult goose.  From that point, I had to focus through my lens with my right eye, and watch the parents with my left eye.  🙂  I was also dive bombed by a tree sparrow for some reason?  I tried to capture him, but he was to close, and to fast for me to be able to focus on him. 

 

So as the evening progressed, I took many types of shots of the setting sun.  Experimenting with my camera settings for creative effects.  Tried to take some bracketed photos, but never did figure out how that works.  I really didn’t expect it to be that difficult to take a bracketed picture, but I guess I’ll have to read the manual.  (RTFM Rich!)  Oh yeah, and learn from my mistakes.  Don’t try to “manage” your images from your camera, while you’re still shooting.  You could end up deleting the best sunset you’ve ever taken by mistake, and not know it until you get home when you’re desperately trying to find that perfect image and it’s just not there!  (Yes, I tried recovery software, but it didn’t recover it.)  Anyway, due to my increased sense of perfection now days, I’ve only posted 3 new sunset images, but I think they’re pretty unique and I hope you like them. 

 

As I listened to the wind, and watched the sun set against the horizon, I had an idea for another photo, but I need a “couple” to create it.  Hmmmm?  I wonder who I could get to work on this project with me? 

 

prattswaynewoods_05142009011-blog

 

After the sun set, I ventured off to take an environmental photograph.  It was quite a long drive, and it was in the middle of freakin’ nowhere, but at least I found it this time.  I tried to do this over a month ago, and couldn’t find the site.  The only problem is that the billowing smokestacks weren’t billowing?  Crap!  I see this plant with it’s billowing columns of smoke every time I got to my dads place, but now that I want to take a picture of it, it’s dormant.  I guess I’ll try again later.  It was nice to be so far out in the wilderness that I could actually “hear” nature though.  Oh!  And I could see so many stars!  I forgot how much you could see when you escape the light pollution of the city. 

Until next time . . . . .

 

http://nightowlphotography.smugmug.com/gallery/7887058_Bebzj#537035878_9HvHN

Leave a Reply

