Photo of the Month – Sunset

This sunset photo is not only my most popular sunset, but it’s one of my most popular images. I call it “Darkness Falls”. I personally like how creepy it looks, which is what led to the name. The name adds to that creepy feeling I think.

This image wasn’t planned, and as a matter of fact, it was taken in complete haste. I was driving to a friends annual “Harvest Party” in Elgin, in early November, and as I turned onto the street she lived on, I looked in my rearview mirror to see this beautiful sunset behind me. I slammed on my brakes, threw the car in reverse, sped backwards down her street until the street ended at a fence on the edge of a field. I knew I only had about 60 seconds before the sun was out of position for this awesome shot. I opened the trunk, hastily grabbed my camera with 50-500mm lens, changed my camera settings, ran into the field so I could frame the shot, and started snapping photos. About 2 minutes later, it was gone, so I continued on to the party.

 

 Darkness Falls

 

Sunsets are one of my favorite things to photograph.  Living in the midwest, some people think sunsets are bland, but I disagree.  You just need to be creative in how you setup the shot you want, and sometimes when you least expect it, a sunset jumps out at you, so you need to keep your camera in your car all the time.  I have many more sunsets in my galleries, so if you’d like to view them all, just follow the links below.  I hope you enjoy them!

 

http://nightowlphotography.smugmug.com/gallery/6112858_NPTMM#386048617_FkWRx

 

http://nightowlphotography.smugmug.com/gallery/8257495_MxDNL#231427397_drsTD

 

Mitakuye Oyasin . . . . .

One comment on “Photo of the Month – Sunset

  1. smartchic says:

    i’m a sucker for sunsets! i love the eerie look of the sunset! a bit creepy, yet stunning shot!

Leave a Reply

