Sandhill Crane Migration @ Jasper Pulaski

Sunday I had planned on going to Jasper Pulaski State Fish and Wildlife Area in Indiana, to see the annual sandhill crane migration, but when I woke up Sunday morning, I was dissapointed to see a cloudy sky.  Damn you weatherman!  I didn’t expect to go, so I wasted time, waiting to see what the sky would do, and it started to break up.  Then I checked the radar, and the raw weather data, and determined that it would be sunny by the time I got there if I left at that very moment.  So I threw my stuff together and rushed out the door. 

I got there and was shocked at how many people were there.  Standing room only on the observation deck, so I took up a spot along the fence in the grassy field below the deck.  So for those of you who don’t know about this, sandhill cranes migrate through Indiana every fall, and about this time of year, it’s not unheard of to see 10,000 birds all at once in this fish & wildlife area, . . . at sunset.  For some reason, they all appear in this huge field, at sunset.  Then at sunrise, they leave again.  What they’re doing is feeding in the cornfields by day, and bedding down in this huge field at night, along with the deer.  There are hundreds of deer in this field as well.  It’s a unique sight of nature, that you can view, in your own back yard if you live in the midwest.  Only 2 hours from Chicago. 

My intent was to take some video clips, so I could share this experience with you, and to get some nice silhouette photographs.  Mother nature was on my side weather wise, and it was a beautiful warm SUNNY day in November.  I think it got up to 70 degrees today.  As the sun set, some horizon clouds began to appear, which made the sunset beautiful.  Exactly what a photographer wants to see in a setting like this.  It was pretty awesome. 

Enjoy the video, and I hope you like the pictures at the end of the video too. 

One comment on “Sandhill Crane Migration @ Jasper Pulaski

  1. Ralph says:

    Good job Son I love itDad

Leave a Reply

