Quad Cities Bald Eagle Photos

Last Thursday I took what will probably be my last trip to the Quad Cities for bald eagle photography this season. I actually tried to head down the night before, but got sacked by a pop-up blizzard here in Chicago. Lake effect snow is a pain in the butt! I couldn’t see 5 feet in front of my car due to white out conditions from the snow. So I ended up driving down Thursday morning to arrive around 11:30AM. My dad showed up around 1PM, and we stayed photographing eagles until about 4PM.

It was a picture perfect day for photographing bald eagles. The sun was out all day, the temp was about 30 degrees, and there were plenty of eagles. For the first couple of hours though, there was very little hunting by the eagles. They were mostly kettling high up into the sky on the air currents. Eventually they started to arrive to hunt though, and by about 3PM, there were so many hunting that it became difficult to decide which bird to focus track as they dove, because there were so many. I think the trees they perch in must have had about 30 birds in them by the end of the day. I got some of my best photos this trip, and I even got some good video too. (I’ll be posting that later.)

So at the end of the day, I went home with 650 images on my memory card. After many long hours of reviewing images, and waiting . . . and waiting . . . and waiting for Photoshop to do it’s thing, I whittled it down to 70 keeper images. Throwing out anything that wasn’t in focus, was a bad pose, had the eagle turned away from the camera, had bad lighting, or whatever. About half of those keepers are posted here on my website, and there are a couple of teasers for you to enjoy in this blog.

Please show your support with a comment on the images or the gallery if you like them. If you REALLY like them, you can buy them to hang on your wall!!! *wink*

Until next season . . . . .

2 comments on “Quad Cities Bald Eagle Photos

  1. Anonymous says:

    Beautiful shots!! Extreme talent!Berni Richter, SOAR Illinois (Save Our American Raptors)

  2. rob.kopecky says:

    Rich,I just viewed your most recent post…. and was very impressed! The tips you shared as to camera settings (live view, etc.) were excellent. I never would have thought to activate live view, but now it makes sense.Thanks for sharing your expertise, Rich.Rob Kopecky

Leave a Reply

