Expanding My Horizons

Well, I haven’t blogged in a while, so here’s an update. I’ve been doing a lot of reflecting about my photography over the winter, and have decided to expand my scope of photography to a couple of new aspects. Since I don’t do weddings, don’t have a studio, and don’t photograph babies, I don’t make a lot of money from my photography, and I need it to start to supplement my income. Weddings and babies are probably the best market to get involved in if you want to make money, but I just don’t get excited about that kind of photography. So here are my plans for expanding my scope.

The first is that I’m going to try to get accepted at Getty Images as a stock photographer. I’m already accepted at Alamy Images, but I haven’t made any money there, and they’re just to broad as to the type of images they accept. I’ve met a photographer who has been successful with Getty, and he’s been kind enough to share some of his experience with me. With stock photo, I’ve learned that photos that sell, are conceptual. Not just beautiful photographs you take, but photographs that you brainstorm, plan, and create. I need to have 10 photographs for my submission, and I’ve already got 2 of them. I’m planning my third currently. It’s kinda fun, but it’s a lot of work. The benefit of all this, is that large corporations shop for images at Getty, and when you have enough images there, when a company licenses them, you get a recurring revenue check each month for the duration of the license. Plus, you get to list the companies on your resume. That photographer who’s shared his experience with me lists MTV and NBC on his resume.

I’m also going to try to start photographing kids sports this spring, so if you have a son or daughter in sports, give me a call or send me a message. I know photographer’s who’ve made thousands last year just photographing kids sports, and selling their images on SmugMug. The hard part here, is my day job. My schedule is so irratic, that I can’t plan anything. I just need to do my best on my days off to find a baseball game, or some other sport to photograph in the area, and hand out business cards while I’m there. I’ve photographed kids sports in the past, and I’m pretty good at it, but I haven’t marketed that business. So now I’ll make that a focus, and see what happens.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized.

Leave a Reply

