Strange Days

So last week I took lots of pictures, and I have some to show you now that I’ve processed them all.  Quite a few odd things happened while I was out shooting last week though, and so I thought I’d write a blog about those oddities. 
 First off, the day before I went shooting last week, was a full moon.  (Que up Twilight Zone music.)
So I started out on April Fools Day early in the morning, before the sun, to go setup at a nearby forest preserve to catch the spring pelican migration.  The news had a story on this lake where pelicans gathered by the hundreds, which I already knew about through the birding community.  Well, tons of people showed up that morning because of the news story, and NO PELICANS.  However, I did get to see and photograph Sandhill Cranes up close! 
So next I continued on to try to find an Osprey nest at another forest preserve. I got lost on the way there, more than once, but eventually I found the preserve, and found the nest. Thanks to one of my camera store customers, Gordon, for the tip on where to find this nest. I was very excited about this because I’ve always wanted to see an osprey and never have. I got some nice pictures of them, and made a little video too.
Then I proceeded to yet another forest preserve, where I was photographing Great Blue Herons nesting. At this location, I saw the weirdest thing. I saw a goose, that thought he was Captain Jack Sparrow, trying to sail the Black Pearl upside down. It was hilarious!!! Check out this picture!
So that was last week, and this week was even more strange. This week I stopped by a preserve near work on Monday because I was in the area early. As I was walking, I noticed in the corner of my eye, a squirrel sitting motionless in a tree. Not so unusual, except that after taking numerous shots, and moving around to get different angles, I realized he still hadn’t moved. Then I saw why. The poor little guy had been attacked by something, and had talon marks and fur torn away. He was traumatized.
So I continued walking, and then noticed a tiny little faerie hole at the base of a tree. I wanted to photograph it, but it was obscured by some leaves. I walked over to move the leaves out of the way, and when I reached down to grab the leaves, this ferocious, growling, scratching monster jumped out at my hand and tried to bite my finger off!!! It growled more fiercely than a Asland, and it’s teeth . . . it’s teeth were HUGE . . . with fangs like the sabretooth, and claws like, like, like a dragon!!! (No kidding, except that I think it was a terrified squirrel protecting itself when I unkowningly nearly reached into it’s home. What I then discovered after my heart started beating again, is that someone had actually boarded up the hole, and something had eaten away part of the board to get inside.) After the viscious attack, snapped a quick photograph, only to discover magick creatures appear in my photograph!
And now for my favorite photograph taken in the last week. It’s a simple photograph, but for some reason, I really like it.
Thanks for reading!
 
 
 
 
One comment on “Strange Days

  1. Anonymous says:

    A nice read, and cool pictures!

Leave a Reply

