Great Horned Owl and Osprey Nest Updates

Last Thursday I was able to revisit the great horned owl nest that I photographed a few weeks earlier.  The baby had grown quite a bit in those 3 weeks for sure.  The weather was nice, but the sun was on the other side of the tree when I arrived because I needed to go in the morning.  I still didn’t get to see the mother though.  I even walked the trails around the nest to look for her roosting somewhere nearby, but only found a multitude of other birds instead. 

So the little guy that the locals call “owlie” was very quiet when I arrived around 10:30 or so.  He slept for about an hour and a half, and then woke up and started moving around.  Making all kinds of faces, cocking his head back and forth with some attitude, making funny eye expressions, etc.  It was neat to watch.  Below is my favorite photo from the day.  Click the photo to see the whole gallery.

After visiting the great horned owl nest, I ventured over to the osprey nest I had been to the week before. I think the female must have been incubating, because she never left the nest. The male was flying around gathering soggy branches and weeds for the nest, but the female never left it. So she’ll probably be there for quite some time now. Below is my favorite photo of the osprey nest from that day. Again, click the image to view the whole gallery.

I’ll keep updating you with photos as time progresses with each of these nests. If you want to stay up to date with these, and with my blog in general, look for the subscribe button on the right hand column of this blog.

2 comments on “Great Horned Owl and Osprey Nest Updates

  1. AWESOME PHOTOS! GREAT job!

  2. Above all are wonderful pics and you have described the occasion very well. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

