Steampunk Art?

 

Yesterday, Sunday, I had the day off again, but instead of going to Bristol, I wanted to do something else.  It took a while to decide between seeing the tall ships in Chicago (I hate driving around in Chicago, and couldn’t really afford parking, plus admission, plus food), or going to the Illinois Railway Museum.  Eventually I decided to go to the Railway Museum.

It took forever and a day to get there because it’s in the middle of Timbuktu.  It was an interesting day though, because it was my first real day spent with my antique 50mm f1.4 that was gifted to me.  All manual focusing all day.  It was a little odd, but fun.  I was taking pictures of things I normally wouldn’t, trying to expand my vision of photography.  When I got home, I had a few images that I think look kinda cool after a little photoshoping, so I’ve created a new gallery on my website for them, because I plan to add to the gallery from time to time. I’ve called it Steampunk Art, but I’m not sure if it’s the kind of stuff people would hang as art in their home?

During the month of September, it looks like the railway museum offers free admission on weekdays. I think I may take another trip up there on a day off in September. I’m guessing that the steampunk communitiy might find it interesting too.

 

http://www.irm.org/

 

Leave a Reply

